Just a ramble from a zombie mom.

So my baby is now six months old and I’ve never in my life felt time fly by as quickly as it did the past half a year. Every time I look at him now all I can think about is how big he’s getting and I never would’ve thought it would go by so fast. His first few weeks here with us are still so fresh in my mind. I wish I could go back and see it all again. Photos are not enough. I’m so proud of him, my husband and me.

He’s still a baby of course but he’s becoming more and more his own person. He’s teething so he’s been very fussy and he eats his hands. He doesn’t like any teethers I’ve tried giving him. I think I’ll have to buy a bunch of different ones and just place them all in his playpen with him and see if he chews on any of them. Because when his hands doesn’t do the job for him he gets super frustrated. He’s waking up more at night now and I’m a zombie. He also has started refusing naps during the day. He’s easier to get down for the night, but naps are a horror show. Earlier today I just lost my mind for a few minutes at that’s actually the first time that’s happened to me so far. I knew it would come, he he. I hope it doesn’t last forever. I haven’t had a full nights sleep in 6 months, I’m considering cutting my hair short because there is just no point in having my hair as long as I do anymore. It’s almost down to my hips. I always have it in a messy bun because: practical. But I’ll see what I end up doing. But despite this, I love being a stay at home mom. I’m so happy I don’t have to go to work and that this is my job. And it is a job for sure but I don’t want to be doing anything else.

Anyway..

I’ve been doing very well with the planning of our weekly meals lately. I absolutely love it. We didn’t used to do it like this before we had a baby. We just went with the flow. But sitting down and writing down a menu, searching through Pinterest for healthy meals and snacks, writing a shopping list and having everything we need for the week makes my mind at ease. It means I don’t have to do any grocery shopping alone during the week with a stroller etc. I don’t drive. So going with my husband and loading up the car once a week makes life simpler. We have definitely saved money too. I know we’re late to the party on this but you know. And I’ve never in my life before enjoyed cooking until I became a mom. I’m progressing more and more every day actually. I’ve added more fish to our diets and less red meat. I’ve gotten a huge craving for sweet potatoes so I always look for recipes with that in the ingredient list.

Today I’m attempting this recipe. On Monday I made this and it turned out so, so good. As I said in my previous blog post, I love Pinterest. It’s now my favorite website. I spend at least an hour or more there every day. I’ve made cooking a priority and I’m very glad I’ve done so. I always cooked before but it was just boring food. Easy pasta dishes etc. We’ve now cut rice, potatoes (except sweet potatoes) and pasta from our diets too. I’ve lost some weight from that.

That’s about all I can pull out from my brain today. Also, if you watch any shows you’d like to recommend to me I’d love to hear it! I’m currently only following Game of Thrones but that’s just once a week so having another show to follow would be nice. What’s your fave series?

Leave a Reply

